EmEditor Home - EmEditor Help - Dialog Boxes - Customize dialog box

Window tab

The Window tab allows you to customize settings related to EmEditor windows.

Restore Window Position check box

Restore the window position when running EmEditor. The window position is saved by clicking the Save Current Window Size button.

Restore Window Size check box

Restore the window size when running EmEditor. The window size is saved by clicking the Save Current Window Size button.

Restore Tabbed Window Position

Automatically saves the tabbed window position when EmEditor tabbed windows are closed or uncombined. It restores the tabbed window position when EmEditor is launched as tabbed windows or when EmEditor windows are combined.

Play Sound to Alert check box

Play a sound for alerts, such as when a searched string cannot be found.

Switch to Last Used Window for Next Window check box

If this is checked, the Next Document command will switch to the last used document. If not checked, the Next Document command will switch to the next document displayed on the tab bar.

Close Group by Closing Window when Tab is Enabled check box

Closes all EmEditor documents in the same group by clicking the Close button in the upper right corner of the EmEditor window when the tabs are enabled.

Do Not Close Last Document by Selecting Close Command check box

If this is checked, when the tabs are enabled and when a user selects the Close command while only one document is opened, EmEditor does not exit but becomes ready for a new document

Save Insert/Overwrite Mode check box

If this box is checked, Insert/Overwrite mode will be saved, and the next time you start a new EmEditor window, the Insert/Overwrite mode will restored. If this box is not checked, EmEditor always starts with the insert mode.

Automatic Workspace drop-down list box

Specifies how you want to save or load the workspace automatically. Selects one of the following options:

None Does not save or restore the workspace.
Save Only The workspace will be saved automatically when the last group is about to close, but this option does not restore the workspace automatically when the first EmEditor window is launched.
Load Only The workspace will be restored automatically when the first EmEditor window is launched, but this option does not save the workspace automatically when the last group is about to close.
Save and Restore The workspace will be saved automatically when the last group is about to close, and restored automatically when the first EmEditor window is launched.
Save, Restore and Keep Undo Information The workspace will be saved automatically when the last group is about to close, and restored automatically when the first EmEditor window is launched. The undo and redo information is also saved and restored.
Save, Restore and Keep Undo Information, and No Prompt to Save Files The workspace will be saved automatically when the last group is about to close, and restored automatically when the first EmEditor window is launched. The undo and redo information is also saved and restored, and no prompt to save files is displayed when you close the last group.

Do not ask before exiting check box

If this box is checked, the dialog box to select workspace options will not be displayed.

Save Current Window Position button

By clicking this button, and checking the Restore Window Position check box or the Restore Window Size check box, the window position or size will be restored.

Reset button

Reset to default settings.

Copyright 2003-2014 by Emurasoft, Inc.