EmEditor Home - EmEditor Help - EmEditor Macro Reference - Tutorial

Run Macro

When you save a macro file, the macro becomes the default macro file, and thus, will be loaded the next time you select the Run Macro command. If you open the Macros menu, "tutorial.jsee" or "tutorial.vbee" appears at the right-side of the Run command. Also, if you place the mouse pointer on top of the Run Macro button, "Run Macro tutorial.jsee" or "Run Macro tutorial.vbee" should appear. In short, a macro file name that appears at the selection of the macro execution command is the default macro. EmEditor saves the default macro until it records a new macro, or selects or saves another macro. When you exit EmEditor and reopen it, the default macro remains the same.

Now select the New Text command to display a new EmEditor window. Then select the Run Macro command. The previously recorded macro should be displayed:

"EmEditor supports macros."

You can run this macro as many times as you want.

Keep in mind that, when you record or select another macro, you are replacing the default macro with it, and thus, you can't execute the macro that you've previously saved in the single operation shown above. In this case, you can use either of the methods below to run a macro that has been previously recorded:

  1. Click the Select Macro command. In the resulting Open File dialog box, select a macro file you want to run (in this tutorial, tutorial.jsee or tutorial.vbee). Run the macro by following the steps described earlier.
  2. Select Macros. The Macros menu includes a list of macros that have been saved. Let's call the list "My Macros". You can run a macro by selecting one from the list (in this tutorial, tutorial.jsee or tutorial.vbee). 

By default, EmEditor automatically adds a macro that has been recorded or selected to My Macros. If you don't want your macros automatically added to My Macros, select the Customize Macros command. In the Options tab of the resulting Customize Macros dialog box, click to clear the Add to My Macros when New Macro is Saved or Selected check box. This action turns off the feature and a macro won't automatically be added to My Macros when you save or select a macro.

Also, if you want to delete a macro file, select the name of the macro file you want to delete from the My Macros tab in the Customize Macros dialog box, then click the Delete button. This page also allows you to change the order of macro files shown in the Macros menu.

If you want to run a macro from a shortcut key on your keyboard, you can assign a shortcut key to the macro by selecting the Keyboard tab from the Properties for All Configurations command or the Properties for Current Configuration command.

Next Topic:

Edit Macro

Copyright 2003-2014 by Emurasoft, Inc.