LifeTimer
Participant

Thanks again for your reply Mr Emura,

First of all, I am much aware of the delicate balance between functionality and simplicity in situations like this (I’m a developer myself), so I do indeed understand your hesitation about more functional but at the same time more complex solutions, just so you know.

About the “refresh” operation, it was apparently just a bad choice of words from my side (I didn’t know there was already another macro operation with that name). So let’s call it “ForceFilterExecution()” instead in my example above. All I meant was that one solution to the performance problem would be to make the default behavior of the “Filter()” command to never perform any filtering until the macro completely exits, and then offer a new macro function called something like “ForceFilterExecution()” that people could execute from the macro if they really need it to perform the filtering in the middle of the macro after all.

As a developer, I do understand though that there would be users that don’t know about this that would complain and report it as a bug etc. Therefore it might be best to just keep the “eeFindContinue” flag too, and make these two flags possible to use in the same call. As long as the “eeKeepPreviousFilterLevels” flag is included you keep any currently existing advanced filter levels, and as long as the “eeFindContinue” flag is included you don’t perform the filtering right after the call, but otherwise you do, just like it is currently implemented (a more descriptive name for the “eeFindContinue” flag would then perhaps be “eePostponeFiltering” or something like that).