#4414

CaptainFlint
Participant

This message warns you that you do have Unicode characters in your file and that they will be lost when saving (replaced with other characters, mostly with question marks).
If there ware no such message and EE just silently replaced all the unicode characters, you would risk to see some day that one (or more) of your files edited earlier became completely unreadable and unrecoverable (if you e.g. saved in wrong codepage by mistake).