Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Monkeyman
    Participant

I am a PHP developer and I write scripts for VQMod. They all have mixed content: XML + PHP mostly (JS can be added as well). I love, when text is highlighted, but XML and PHP doesn’t mix well. See for yourself:

Problem’s very simple: EmEditor thinks, that -> is a closing tag for previously opened < tag, however it’s not. The same happens in most similar cases (e.g.:, simple string like this “<“ will “open” the highlighted text):

Could you add a feature to add a list of EXCLUDED symbols or symbol combinations for each highlighted option? I mean add a “Exclude tags” field on Highlight (1) tab near “Begin tag” and “End tag” ones. For example, in fore-mentioned cases I’d add ->, “>” and “<“ combinations, since they always interfere.

Meir
    Participant

Dear Monkey…

The issue is quite broader. I work with Perl. And that language has some rather queer exceptions. One example: @my_array is … you guessed, an array! $#my array is the highest index currently occupied. But EmEditor considers everything beyond the ‘#’ as comment. And there are many more exceptions.

Try and open one of the syntax highlighting files. Open Tools->Properties for the current configuration->Highlight(1). Click the ‘Export’ button and same the ‘esy’ file. Its syntax seem simple enough. Especially note the line
    #Keyword color=4,word=on,rightall=off,case=on,insidetag=off,regexp=off,rightall2=off
    There seem to be a possibility to specify some syntax highlighting by regular expressions. I once asked Yutaka for some usage examples. He doesn’t seem to consider this request as worthy of his attention. May be you can convince him otherwise…?

CaptainFlint
    Participant