Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Stefan
    Participant

Reformat: break line at n-chars (VBScript)

Made because of http://www.emeditor.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=156&forum=2&post_id=2556#forumpost2556

Based on an script from mp3cdman at http:// www. haneng.com/asp-forum/Vbscript-Line-Wrap_2521.html
    But i found this algorithmen is not the best, i had mixed results. I’ll try to find an more robust code.

Provided “as is”. No guaranty.
    Test first on non important documents! I am no programmer.

Please comment below how it works.

See EmEditor Help for how to use macros. Here’s an short help:
    1.) Save the code between 8< and >8 -lines as text file “somename.vbee” in EmEditor folder
    2.) use Menu “Macros > Select…” and choose this somename.vbee as current default macro
    3.) open an test file (try first on an test document!)
    and select some long lines
    4.) press F4 and enter max chars to break line into two
    Your done.

———–8<---------------8<-----------

#title = Reformat
    #tooltip = Reformat: break line at n-chars
    '// Select some text and execute this macro to wrap/break the text

str = document.selection.Text
    If str = "" THEN
    alert "Please select some text (or all) first" _
    & vbCRLF & "Then start the macro again."
    Quit
    End IF

WrapAt = prompt( "Break line at:", "72" )
    If IsNumeric(WrapAt) THEN
    If WrapAt < 1 THEN
    alert "Enter amount of chars per line, for exemple ""72""" _
    & vbCRLF & "Please start the macro again."
    Quit
    End If
    ELSE
    alert WrapAt & " is not an number!" _
    & vbCRLF & "Please enter amount of chars per line numeric, for exempel ""72""" _
    & vbCRLF & "Please start the macro again."
    Quit
    End If

document.selection.Text = WordWrap(str,WrapAt)

Function WordWrap(theString, wrapLength)
    'credits to mp3cdman at http:// www. haneng.com/asp-forum/Vbscript-Line-Wrap_2521.html
    Dim tempString,lenOfString,index