Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6913

    mikez302
    Member

    I have another suggestion. I noticed that when EmEditor starts up, it tries to open the files I had open the last time. This is usually a good thing, but frequently I work with files on a network drive. If I close EmEditor when I have a bunch of files open, then start it back up when I’m not connected, it will tell me that all the files were not found, one at a time: There will be a dialog saying something like “Y:index.html is not found”, then “Y:contact.php is not found”, etc. If there are a lot of files, it will be somewhat tedious to read each of the dialogs and click OK on them, so after about the 5th or so, I will repeatedly click the OK button quickly to get rid of them.

    The thing that really catches me off-guard is that after the last “file not found” dialog box, another one comes up saying “Do you want to erase the current workspace?” with the “Yes” button in the exact same place as the OK button on the previous dialogs, so I will click that accidentally and erase my workspace.

    I noticed that this problem is not specific to files on a network. You can test it by creating some files, saving them, quitting the editor, deleting the files, and starting the editor again.

    Is there any way to disable these dialogs, or to only have one dialog telling me all the files that aren’t found, rather than one for each file? Thank you.

    #6914

    Yutaka Emura
    Keymaster

    mikez302 wrote:
    I have another suggestion. I noticed that when EmEditor starts up, it tries to open the files I had open the last time. This is usually a good thing, but frequently I work with files on a network drive. If I close EmEditor when I have a bunch of files open, then start it back up when I’m not connected, it will tell me that all the files were not found, one at a time: There will be a dialog saying something like “Y:index.html is not found”, then “Y:contact.php is not found”, etc. If there are a lot of files, it will be somewhat tedious to read each of the dialogs and click OK on them, so after about the 5th or so, I will repeatedly click the OK button quickly to get rid of them.

    The thing that really catches me off-guard is that after the last “file not found” dialog box, another one comes up saying “Do you want to erase the current workspace?” with the “Yes” button in the exact same place as the OK button on the previous dialogs, so I will click that accidentally and erase my workspace.

    I noticed that this problem is not specific to files on a network. You can test it by creating some files, saving them, quitting the editor, deleting the files, and starting the editor again.

    Is there any way to disable these dialogs, or to only have one dialog telling me all the files that aren’t found, rather than one for each file? Thank you.

    I will try to add “Apply All” check box on this prompt dialog box. Thank you very much for your input!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.